SSTI Excellence in TBED Awards Overview

SSTI – a national nonprofit organization that leads, supports, and strengthens efforts to improve state and regional economies through science, technology, and innovation –  is pleased to announce the 2016 Excellence in TBED Awards. The awards are designed to celebrate exceptional achievement in technology-based economic development (TBED).

To mark the 10th anniversary of the SSTI Excellence in TBED awards program, we have made some exciting changes to the categories. Since last year, we have combined some categories with the intent of better reflecting the ever-evolving field of tech-based economic development and added a new category to reflect burgeoning activity in a new area:

  • Most Promising TBED Initiative
  • Building Prosperity Through Science & Technology
  • Creating Prosperity Through Entrepreneurship & Capital
  • Enhancing Prosperity Through Competitive Industries
  • Increasing Prosperity Through Economic Opportunity

Learn More…

SSTI’s Excellence in TBED Awards program is designed to celebrate exceptional achievement in TBED as well as offer practitioners and policymakers examples of successful approaches that are being employed by others.


Any TBED program or practitioner is eligible to apply. This includes, but is not limited to, nonprofit organizations, local and state governments, colleges and universities, federal agencies and labs, industry associations, economic development councils, and other organizations that promote innovation and technology-based economic development.

While SSTI encourages its members to apply, you do not need to be a member of SSTI to enter or receive an award, and your membership status will not affect the judges’ evaluation of your application.

Awards will be presented only for exceptional achievement; therefore, SSTI reserves the right not to issue an award in a particular category if no applications are deemed as meeting the standards of the award.

Entry Guidelines

Each entry must include a completed registration form, cover page, narrative, and payment of entry fee. The narrative document must be typed on a maximum of five 8.5” by 11” pages using a minimum font size of 11 points. Many TBED initiatives can cross into multiple categories. Nominations can be submitted for more than one category; however, each entry is considered a separate nomination and requires a separate registration form, narrative, and application fee. It is up to the applicant to determine under which category the initiative they are nominating is competing; entries with no award category or multiple categories marked will not be considered. Applicants can win in only one category.

Selection Committee & Process

Each application will be reviewed by a committee of distinguished current and former practitioners with knowledge and experience within a given award category. Selection committee members are chosen each year by SSTI based on their experience, knowledge of the field, and accomplishments.

If no application in an award category achieves the level of excellence contemplated for the award, the committee may decide not to make an award in that category. The selection committee will determine winners, and decisions of that committee will be final. All applicants will be notified of their status when winners are announced.

How to Apply

Visit for complete instructions. Entries must be uploaded as a PDF or Word document. The entry may also be mailed along with payment to:

ATTENTION: Awards Entry Fee


5015 Pine Creek Drive

Westerville, OH 43081.


The brochure also includes:

Deadline for applications is 5 P.M. ET, July 8, 2016.

Submit your organization’s application, today!

Comments are closed.